The 39 House Republicans Who Voted for the Same-Sex Marriage Bill

WASHINGTON — Legislation to mandate federal recognition for same-sex marriages cleared Congress on Thursday after passing both chambers with bipartisan support.

While the key breakthrough came in the Senate, where Democrats needed Republican backing to move the measure forward, a larger-than-expected group of House Republicans embraced it over the summer. Ultimately a smaller number supported its final passage on Thursday, and it passed by a vote of 258-169, with one voting “present.”

Eight Republicans who had backed the legislation in July abandoned it on Thursday. Representatives Cliff Bentz of Oregon; Mario Diaz-Balart, Brian Mast and Maria Salazar of Florida; Dan Meuser and Scott Perry of Pennsylvania; and Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey switched their votes to “no.” Representative Burgess Owens of Utah, who supported the bill over the summer, switched his position to “present.”

Here are the 39 Republicans who voted “yes,” with asterisks denoting the two who switched their votes after opposing it over the summer.

  • Representative Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota

  • Representative Don Bacon of Nebraska

  • Representative Ken Calvert of California

  • Representative Kat Cammack of Florida

  • Representative Mike Carey of Ohio

  • Representative Liz Cheney of Wyoming

  • Representative John Curtis of Utah

  • Representative Rodney Davis of Illinois

  • Representative Tom Emmer of Minnesota

  • Representative Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania

  • *Representative Mike Gallagher of Wisconsin

  • Representative Andrew Garbarino of New York

  • Representative Mike Garcia of California

  • Representative Carlos Gimenez of Florida

  • Representative Tony Gonzalez of Texas

  • Representative Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio

  • *Representative Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington

  • Representative Ashley Hinson of Iowa

  • Representative Darrell Issa of California

  • Representative Chis Jacobs of New York

  • Representative David Joyce of Ohio

  • Representative John Katko of New York

  • Representative Nancy Mace of South Carolina

  • Representative Nicole Malliotakis of New York

  • Representative Peter Meijer of Michigan

  • Representative Mariannette Miller-Meeks of Iowa

  • Representative Blake Moore of Utah

  • Representative Dan Newhouse of Washington

  • Representative Jay Obernolte of California

  • Representative Tom Rice of South Carolina

  • Representative Mike Simpson of Idaho

  • Representative Elise Stefanik of New York

  • Representative Bryan Steil of Wisconsin

  • Representative Chris Stewart of Utah

  • Representative Mike Turner of Ohio

  • Representative Fred Upton of Michigan

  • Representative David Valadao of California

  • Representative Ann Wagner of Missouri

  • Representative Tim Waltz of Florida

Back to top button